Who Is Your Favorite Fantasy Fiction Author? And Why?

J.K. Rowling, author of the Harry Potter series

The exciting thing about fantasy fiction is that you never know what or who is going to come along next.  Will it be another “overnight” sensation like my hero, J.K. Rowling, the brilliant author of the Harry Potter series? Will Australian Alison Croggon present us with another spectacular epic adventure series like the Books of Pellinor  (The Naming, The Riddle, The Crow, and The Singing)?   Maybe I will come across another David Eddings book in The Belgariad or The Mallorean  that I haven’t read (slim chance of that, though).

The problem with selecting just one favorite fantasy author is that it’s like eating pretzels.  You can’t stop at just one.  I’ve mentioned three of my favorite authors and then I have this tremendous battle in my mind…but what about Raymond Feist (Magician from the Riftwar Saga)?  Orson Scott Card (Ender’s Game – I know this isn’t, strictly speaking, fantasy, more science fiction…but it has strong fantasy overtones)?  Terry Brooks (the Shannara series and the Magic Kingdom series)?

J.R.R. Tolkien, author of The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings

You can’t have a list without adding R.A. Salvatore (The Icewind Dale Trilogy), Piers Anthony (the Xanth series), Terry Pratchett (the Discworld series), Neil Gaiman (American Gods series), Roger Zelazny (The Chronicles of Amber),  Jennifer Fallon (the Demon Child Trilogy), Tanith Lee (The Lion Wolf series), Lord Dunsany (The King of Elfland’s Daughter), Marion Zimmer Bradley (The Mists of Avalon), Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman (The Deathgate Cycle).  The list goes on and on.  And of course, we can’t forget the Father of Modern Fantasy Fiction, J.R.R. Tolkien, the creator genius behind the magnificent Lord of the Rings.

Instead of me doing all the work, though, I thought it might be nice if you did some of it.  Use the poll to select one of the authors listed (or select other and let us know who you wanted to vote for).  Then post a comment, telling us a little bit about the author and why s/he is your favorite.  I can’t wait to see what you picked.

EDIT: Yayyy – I finally figured out how to attach the poll.  Of course I couldn’t possibly put all the names of the great fantasy writers in here, but you can add your own.  Enjoy!

11 responses to “Who Is Your Favorite Fantasy Fiction Author? And Why?

  1. Neil Gaiman is a sexy rockstar of fairy tales, fantasy fiction, graphic novels, whatever genre he chooses! *throws panties on the stage*

    ~Kally

    Like

  2. Gee, Kally, I didn’t know you threw panties lol So why didn’t you vote for Neil Gaiman – he’s up there?

    Anyhow, I’d like to welcome you to my blog. Folks, Kally is one of the featured writers of two of the stories in Birth of a Unicorn and Other Stories and a friend of mine.

    Like

    • Er, I did vote. Twice. It seems it shows up only when it wants to (I looked a couple times).

      Sorry it took me so long to find the blog again. I’d had your old one bookmarked & checked it in the mornings, lol.
      ~Steph

      Like

  3. No problem, Steph. I would consider it an honor if you would subscribe to my blog.

    As for the durned poll, why do I always have problems with these things? I have no idea how to fix it, so will just leave it in the hope that someone else will try it and then write and tell me how to fix it 😛

    Like

  4. Terry Pratchett. The sense of humour. The characters. I mean, who doesn’t love Death?

    Like

    • Yeah, ginalw, Death is hilarious. He’s such an open and sincere character, you almost feel bad that he is, after all, Death. Thanks for visiting and voting on this poll. We now have a three-way tie–David Eddings, Neil Gaiman, Terry Pratchett. We need more voters to break the tie 😛

      Like

  5. Yeah, there are just too many great writers, and this list is totally incomplete. I just didn’t want to make a mile-long poll. Tolkien has my love and admiration for what he did for the genre of fantasy and the sub-genre of classic fantasy. That’s the kind of fantasy I love to read…and write.

    I don’t believe you can vote twice. It would be much of a poll if you could lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

