The Truth About Sandra – Memetastically Speaking

Some mine buildings at Giant Mine, Yellowknife...

Image via Wikipedia - Some mine buildings on site at Giant Mines, Yellowknife, NWT, Canada

Welcome back to part 2 of the Memetastic Awards.  As promised I am about to reveal which of the five stories listed in my post You Want to Do What to My Memetastic Award? is the true story.  So without further ado, here we go.

1. My mother was a talented and acclaimed radio actress and played in radio dramas in the late 1940s.  My father wrote the plays and produced them.  I once got to scream in a WWII radio drama and then was shot while being held in my mother’s arms. The scream scared me more than the shot did.  TRUE

This one is true.  We lived in Yellowknife in the Northwest Territories, which, at the time had one small local radio.  Occasionally they would pipe in programs from the big southern centers like Toronto and Calgary via CBC.  But most of the programming was provided locally.  Mom and Dad got up a group of people to help them with the acting in the radio plays (remember, there was no TV back then), we would rehearse for a few days, and then do the show LIVE on Sunday.  People in Yellowknife loved the plays and wouldn’t believe that they were locally produced, believing that they were programs piped in from the big centers.

2. My brother was good at horse riding and showed me how to ride when I was 6 or 7.  He was training me to ride in the junior division of The Royal Winter Fair in Toronto.  However, the horse I was training with, named Gypsy, bucked me off, I got scared, and didn’t get my nerve back until after the Fair was over.  I never tried riding at the Winter Fair again.  FALSE

This one is partly true and partly false.  First off, I am an only child…no brothers or sisters.  Secondly, it was my father who taught me how to ride.  Thirdly, I did train for the Royal Winter Fair, but I was 14, not 7.  Fourthly, a lady who owned the horses trained me for the Royal Winter Fair.  Fifthly, Gypsy did buck me off, I did get scared, and I didn’t get back on again until after the Fair was over.

3. My grandfather, a government surveyor, was surveying the boundary between northern Alberta and southern Northwest Territories in the early 1900s, when he was captured by aboriginals disgruntled by various Indian Treaties.  They told him the government lied and they would kill him if he didn’t change the treaties.  He did some fancy talking to convince them that he was a government surveyor, not a treaty agent.  They eventually, reluctantly, let him go.  He used to tell me the story as I sat on his knee.  I didn’t really believe him until he showed me the faded newspaper clipping he kept in his desk drawer with a bunch of other memorabilia.  FALSE

This one is also partly true and partly false.  My grandfather was indeed a government surveyor in the early 1920s, but he and his crew ran the 6th Meridian north through northern Alberta and the Northwest Territories.  My mother was the first white baby the natives in the area had ever seen.  There is a lake named after her there…Margaret Lake. 🙂  However, my grandfather was never captured and threatened with death by any aboriginals.   And I never sat on my grandfather’s knee.  Of course, there was no faded newspaper clipping either.

Beauty

4. How fleeting is youth!  When I was in my early 20s, I won a small beauty contest in Montreal…Miss NDG (Notre Dame de Grace), a municipal English district in Montreal.  I let it go to my head, thinking maybe I could reach the heights of Miss Canada and then maybe even Miss Universe.  Far from disliking the whole world of beauty shows, I loved it…the excitement, glamor, attention.  I seemed to get along well with the other girls, which made a difference too.  Anyhow, the next division was Miss Montreal…and I lost miserably to a lovely French girl.  I later admitted that she was prettier than me.  A lot prettier.  I didn’t even get Miss Congeniality…they didn’t have that award in the Miss Montreal contest.  FALSE

This one is nearly all false.  Although I did live in NDG in Montreal at one time, I have never entered a beauty contest and have never won anything except a lava lamp at bingo one time.

5.  Motherhood agreed with me.  Every time I got pregnant, I seemed to glow…never got morning sickness and seemed to be spared the more common aches and pains in the 7th, 8th and 9th months.  My first child was born quickly, although I went through some pretty excruciating labor pains, but only for 7 hours.  During the 2nd and 3rd pregnancies, I practiced self-hypnosis, and honestly, I’ve had worse gas pains when it came time for labor.  However, something went wrong with my innards, and the 4th and 5th babies were delivered by Caesarean.  I couldn’t have any more babies after that.  All five were healthy and normal.  FALSE

This one is a little bit true but mostly false.  I did have two children, not five.  The first one, my son, was born quickly, although I went through some pretty excruciating labor pains, but only for 7 hours.  I did practice self-hypnosis with my second baby, my daughter, and yes, I’d had worse gas pains during that labor.  I had my tubes tied shortly after her birth and there was no 3rd, 4th and 5th babies.  It’s true I couldn’t have any more babies after my second…and both children were healthy and normal.  Although my daughter will argue the last point about my son 😛

Thank you all for playing this little game.  Thanks to Dorky Deb for starting it all.  And thanks to the winners I picked for the next round.  (large round of applause – fade annnnnnnd – OUT)

That’s a wrap!

18 responses to “The Truth About Sandra – Memetastically Speaking

  1. Sandra: Congrats on that Lava Lamp, Girlfriend! 😉 and the next time I need a “screamer” I know who to call! Cheers!

    Like

  2. Aha! See, I knew you were an only child & that you had two children…so those were the two I could easily rule out. I do vaguely recall you talking about your grandfather surveying, I think that’s why that one stood out to me.

    And if you get the chance, the rest of you, listen to one of Sandra’s interviews online (there was one via The Author Show & another for NaNoWriMo). She has a very sweet, soothing “radio” voice. I should’ve known it started early 😉

    Like

    • ahhh *blush* I see you are returning the favor. Thanks for the boost, Kally. I don’t believe I have the links anymore. I will try to find my copy of The Author Show tape and hook it up on the FF website again. So folks, don’t go to fantasyfic.com yet. I’ll post here when I get it up and running.

      Like

  3. Thanks. You did a marvelous job writing the five stories. 🙂

    Like

  4. It was fun reading through all your stories. The right answer would have been my second choice. I don’t know where to share this so I’m putting it here. Sandra, I’ve just come up with my first fantasy storyline. I figured you’d be excited 🙂

    Like

    • Oooh, yes, Haley, I am excited…care to share any of it? (I understand if you don’t, though.) Wouldn’t it be added excitement if you combined a fantasy story with a historical slant…or a historical story with a fantasy slant? 😀 😀 😀

      Like

  5. All five stories were extremely plausible. I could not make myself choose one to be true. Maybe you can have a new career on the NPR program Wait, wait don’t tell me.

    Like

    • Funny you should mention that. I used to be a deejay on late-night radio in Calgary. But not NPR 🙂

      I think the trick to writing these things is adding a modicum of truth to make them sound plausible and then embellish from there. I have to say it’s fun. For a writer, it’s like getting dressed up to go to a costume party.

      Like

  6. Wow I guessed correctly! Cool. 🙂
    They were all so interesting. I loved reading your explanations too. Margaret Lake, that is neat!

    Like

  7. Fun blog! I’ll be back 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

